Jeanette M. Steward
Worthy Matron

Melvin O. Williams
Worthy Patron

Martha Chapter No. 11

Birthday/Shower: March 13, 2017

Meeting: 2nd Monday

Main Activity: TBD
Date: July 14, 2017
Time: TBD
Location: TBD

Elected Chapter Officers

Associate Matron Vickey A. Wright-Smith

Conductress Etta Steward-Kemp

Associate Patron Milton M. Davis, Jr

Associate Conductress Tequilla S. Thomas

Martha Chapter No. 11
Order of the Eastern Star, Prince Hall Affiliation
(Historical Excerpts)

Martha Chapter No. 11, Order of the Eastern Star, PHA, holding a Charter from the Georgiana Thomas Grand Chapter, O.E.S., District of Columbia, was organized in March 1927. Sister Katie Lloyd was the first Worthy Matron and Brother Nathaniel Turner was our first Worthy Patron. The initiation of a small group of dedicated women was performed in 1928, they were: Sisters Pearl Foust, Novella Jones, Mabel Lloyd, Lillian Long, Effie Pettus, Eliza Stroman, Hattie Tyler, Mary Wise and Brothers George and Wilton Lloyd. Sisters Nettie Stroman and Ethel Lomax were unable to attend the ceremony, later that year they were the first to be initiated by a “Select Team” of the Grand Chapter into Martha Chapter.

In 1929, Sister Lillian Long was elected Worthy Matron of Martha Chapter. Under her administration, a group of ladies organized as Royal Matrons for the purpose of entering into a new chapter were invited to join Martha Chapter. Some of these Sisters were Cecelia Baines, Lula Mason, Lillian Sanchez, Lula Henderson, Ophelia Smith, Gracie Witherspoon and Amy Stewart.

Martha Chapter is proud to acknowledge, as of 2013, eighty-five Past Matrons, thirty Past Patrons, six Past Grand Worthy Matrons: Mamie J. Simms*, Eleanor P. Lewis*, Alice L. Lee*, Justine H. McCall*, Julia F. Edwards and Sarah G. S. Horne; seven Past Grand Worthy Patrons: Martin L. Jackson*, John Smith*, Leroy Crummer*, Charles L. Green*, Joe N. Brinson*, Roy L. Dixon* and Herman M. Marshall, Jr.; six Past Grand Lecturers: Eleanor P. Lewis*, Gertrude Taylor*, Justine H. McCall*, Julia F. Edwards, Elmar R. Nichols* and Atlanta Littlejohn*; six Past Assistant Grand Lecturers: Josephine Lash*, Anna B. Holley*, Odessa A. Price*, Sarah G. S. Horne, Laura I. Werts* and Mildred J. Ferguson; three Past Matrons who served as OES Grand Lecturer: Marian A. Ferrell, Brenda A. Thomas and Frankie Ervin Hill; Right Worshipful Grand Secretary Emeritus William A. Burnett, Most Worshipful Past Grand Master Charles F. Bates, and Most Worshipful Past Grand Master Aaron R. Jordan 33º.

Past Assistant Grand Lecturer Odessa A. Price* was the granddaughter and descendent of one of our Charter Members, the late Past Matron Lillian Long.

Royal Matron Amy Stewart* was the last living Past Royal Matron in the District of Columbia, passing in 2001.

Our Brother Lodges are Widow’s Son No. 7, Corinthian No. 18, and Harmony No. 22. Sister Chapters are Fidelity No. 10, affiliated in March 1928 by “twin-birth” and Eureka No. 11, Jurisdiction of Maryland, in 1974 under the auspices of Past Matrons Dorothy L. Chambers (Martha Chapter) and Ruth Jackson* (Eureka Chapter).

In the early years, the chapter was known as “Little Martha.” Over the years, the chapter grew and that title no longer applies. Today, the unofficial motto of the chapter is: “I will do it for Martha.” This motto is our foundation as we continue to move the chapter forward each year.