Arlene F. Robinson
Worthy Matron

Leslie P. Walker, Jr.
Worthy Patron

Ruth Chapter No. 8


Meeting: 2nd Wednesday

Main Activity:

Elected Chapter Officers

Associate Matron Sheila White

Conductress Luana Sillah

Associate Patron Howard Payne, Jr., PP

Associate Conductress Tamilla White

Ruth Chapter No. 8
Order of the Eastern Star, Prince Hall Affiliation
(Historical Excerpts)

In 1913, PM Minnie F. Conway of Miriam Chapter No. 4 thought another Eastern Star Chapter was needed in this Jurisdiction. Upon her suggestion, a meeting was called at her residence at 1906 3rd Street, NW, Washington, DC with GRP William A. Wells and she as the presiding officer. After several meetings, GRP Wells was petitioned for a dispensation to form a U.D. Chapter under the Grand Chapter. On June 12, 1914, Ruth Chapter No. 16 was organized and on Wednesday, March 10, 1915, Ruth Chapter No. 16 was chartered.

The Charter members were; Lillian Anderson, Mabel Anderson, Sallie Anderson, Josephine Beason, Sarah Burns, Julia B. Collier, Minerva G. Dabney, Amanda P. Forrest, Annie Gardner, Roxie Gibson, Georgiana Gordon, Hattie C. Gray, Addie C. Greer, Katie Hill, Alma Jeffords, Gertrude Johnson, Marion S. Lewis, Ella Lofton, Ross Lucas, Lizzie Robinson, Mabel Robinson, Laura Ross, Julia Scott, Ruth Weatherless, Mannie Whitfield, Mary E. Williams and W. Henri Gordon. Sister Julia B. Collier served as the first Worthy Matron and Brother W. Henri Gordon served as the first Worthy Patron.

Ruth Chapter No. 8 has three Brother Lodges; St. John Lodge No. 12 became affiliated through the association of PM Minnie Conway and the wives of St. John’s Lodge. In 1959, Ruth Chapter under the leadership of PM Artiemisha Reddick and WM Luyco Holmes of Acacia Lodge No. 25 was the adoption of our second brother lodge. In June 1994, under the leadership of PM Harriet Anderson and WM David A. McWilliams of Prudence Lodge No. 27 was the adoption of our third brother lodge. We have been blessed to have a Sister Chapter also, Marjorie T. Lancaster Chapter No. 84, O.E.S, P.H.A., Jurisdiction of Maryland.

Ruth Chapter is proud to say that, we have had two MWGM’S to grace the MWPHGL. Cyrus Parker, (1943-1945) and Donald Vowels (1979-1980). Sixteen members have been elevated to the highest position of Eastern Stardom:

Grand Worthy Matrons Grand Worthy Patrons

1923-Marian Stewart Lewis 1920-W. Henri Gordon

1932-Josephine C. Butts 1933-Edward Weyms

1956-Evelyn L. Thomas 1946-Rudolph S. Steward

1965-Cordelia J. Williams 1958-Julian F. Browne

1979-Edna F. Brown 1964-Oswald Cross

1983-Ruth C. Smith 1968-Jesse Brown

1990-Ellen D. Barnes 1978-William R. Smith

1997-Grace E. Vowels 1991-Reginald King

As we reflect on God’s blessings, let’s celebrate our history by honoring those who ran the race to lead us thus far.